Caltech Home > Home > UASH
Search Search

Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee

Responsibilities

The Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee (UASH) is responsible for awarding  some academic honors (the Green, Froehlich and Housner prizes)  and for consulting on other campus-wide honors.  In addition, UASH ensures that a consistent set of standards and rules is applied in academic matters involving undergraduates.


Members

UASH is composed of a chair and 8 professors elected by the Caltech faculty, 5 students (3 voting, 2 alternate) selected by the Academics and Research Committee (ARC), the Registrar, and the non-voting Undergraduate Deans. The current members of UASH are:

Faculty / Staff

Daniel P. Weitekamp, Chair
Jean Paul Ampuero Saenz
Paul M. Bellan
John F. Brady
Warren C. Brown
Xie Chen
Mathieu Desbrun
Ryan B. Patterson

Christy Salinas *
Kevin Gilmartin *
Lesley Nye *
Kristin Weyman *

 

Students

Erik Herrera**
Karen Pham
Elaine B. Lowinger **






* ex officio member
 
** alternate


Handbook for Students

The UASH Handbook for Students (PDF) provides students with information about how to prepare petitions for submission to UASH.


Forms

Forms to submit to UASH are available from the Deans' or Registrar's office or here in PDF format. If you download a form, you may complete it electronically (using the freely available Adobe Acrobat Reader), but must submit it to the registrar's office in person.

Many of these forms will need:


Links


Meeting Dates

UASH meets in the Center for Student Services, Brennen Conference Room, 3rd Floor.  Below are the scheduled meeting times for 2018-19. 

Summer Term 2018

9:00am Wednesday, August 1 - First Meeting before Fall Term - petitions due Thursday, July 26 at 1:00pm

Fall Term 2018

1:00pm Thursday, September 27 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Monday, September 24 at 1:00pm

1:00pm Friday, September 28 - Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, September 27 at 3:00pm

9:00am Friday, November 30 - Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Wednesday, November 28 at 1:00pm

Winter Term 2019

9:00am Tuesday, January 8 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, January 3 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, January 11 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, January 10 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, March 8 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Monday, March 4 at 1:00pm

Spring Term 2019

9:00am Tuesday, April 2 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, March 28 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, April 5 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, April 4 at 1:00pm

9:00am Wednesday, May 29 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Tuesday, May 28 at 10:00am

9:00am Wednesday, June 26 - Last meeting of Spring - petitions due Monday, June 24 at 1:00pm

Summer Term 2019

9:00am Thursday, August 8 - First Meeting before Fall Term - petitions due Thursday, August 1 at 1:00pm


updated 7/30/2018