Caltech Home > Home > UASH
Search Search

Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee

Responsibilities

The Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee (UASH) is responsible for awarding  some academic honors (the Green, Froehlich, Housner and Undergraduate Senior Thesis prizes)  and for consulting on other campus-wide honors.  In addition, UASH ensures that a consistent set of standards and rules is applied in academic matters involving undergraduates.


Members

UASH is composed of a chair and 8 professors elected by the Caltech faculty, 5 students (3 voting, 2 alternate) selected by the Academics and Research Committee (ARC), the Registrar, and the non-voting Undergraduate Deans. The current members of UASH are:

Faculty / Staff

Warren C. Brown, Chair
Xie Chen

William M. (Bil) Clemons, Jr.
Jennifer Jackson
Ryan B. Patterson
Sergio Pellegrino
Keith Schwab

Christy Salinas *
Kevin Gilmartin *
Lesley Nye *
Kristin Weyman *

 

Students

Isabella Camplisson
Erik Herrera
Karen Pham







* ex officio member
 
** alternate


Handbook for Students

The UASH Handbook for Students (PDF) provides students with information about how to prepare petitions for submission to UASH.


Forms

Forms to submit to UASH are available from the Deans' or Registrar's office or here in PDF format. If you download a form, you may complete it electronically (using the freely available Adobe Acrobat Reader), but must submit it to the registrar's office in person.

Links


Meeting Dates

UASH meets in the Center for Student Services, Brennen Conference Room, 3rd Floor.  Below are the scheduled meeting times for 2019-20. 

Summer Term 2019

9:00am Thursday, August 8 - First Meeting before Fall Term - petitions due Thursday, August 1 at 1:00pm

Fall Term 2019

1:00pm Thursday, September 26 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Monday, September 23 at 1:00pm

1:00pm Friday, September 27 - Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, September 26 at 3:00pm

9:00am Tuesday, November 26 - Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Friday, November 22 at 1:00pm

Winter Term 2020

9:00am Tuesday, January 7 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, January 2 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, January 10 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, January 9 at 1:00pm

9:00am Thursday, March 5 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Monday, March 2 at 1:00pm

Spring Term 2020

9:00am Tuesday, March 31 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, March 26 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, April 3 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, April 2 at 1:00pm

9:00am Wednesday, May 27 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Tuesday, May 26 at 10:00am

9:00am Wednesday, June 24 - Last meeting of Spring - petitions due Monday, June 22 at 1:00pm

Summer Term 2020

9:00am Wednesday, August 5 - First Meeting before Fall Term - petitions due Wednesday, July 29 at 1:00pm


updated 7/29/2019